Cosplay New Zealand
Hi there! This forum has now moved over to Facebook. You can find us by searching for 'Cosplay New Zealand', or going to https://www.facebook.com/groups/cosplaynewzealand/

We'll see you there.
Cosplay New Zealand
Hi there! This forum has now moved over to Facebook. You can find us by searching for 'Cosplay New Zealand', or going to https://www.facebook.com/groups/cosplaynewzealand/

We'll see you there.
Cosplay New Zealand
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RulesRules  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Newbie wanting help with wig care and how to clip on bun to hair not tied up

View previous topic View next topic Go down
MessageAuthor
Post By Lux0rd. 09/05/14, 03:08 am

Hi,
I am new to cosplay. I am wanting to cosplay as Konan from Akatsuki (Naruto) however am confused about the best way to go about making and attaching the Bun.

I have read tutorials about making odangos out of styrofoam balls and think this looks like a good way to make the bun however there seem to usually be attached to stubs but Konan has her straight short hair out and not tied up.

Has anyone had any experience with cosplaying as Konan or attaching buns to not tied up hair?

If an odango would not work can you make any other suggestions? Also if an odango would work what would be the best way to attach it?

The other question I have is the best way to keep the wig from detangling.

I have seen lots of products that people rave about on other websites but they almost always are strictly in the US or cost around 5x the price of the itemitself to ship to NZ.

I saw some people saying WD40 or silicon spray were good however I am a bit hesitant about trying these as they seem like they would be smelly and greasy.